black music nobody remembers but me: slow love

docboxbfreshim bringin back this feature as a part of my Great Big Gotdamn Black History Month extravaganza.  this installment brings us:  ‘slow love’ by doc box and b. fresh.

i asked a couple of people about this song in the past couple of weeks and nobody remembered it but me.  surprise surprise, huh?  this was my shit tho; its another of the songs i used to sit and watch the jukebox for hours for, waiting for it to come on.  this joint dropped in 1990.  that’s 18 years ago.  i dont want to discuss how old that makes me feel.  i was 8 years old then.  eight!!!!  eight young tender supple years old!!  omg.  i loooooved this song man.  firstly, the beat was and still is bangin.. when it drops in the beginning after dude is like-

‘…buss it.’

what??!  are you kidding me??  if your head is sittin still on your neck when you hear that, then you may have gotten some faulty musical judgement genes and you have my sympathy.  and when i was little i liked dude in the vid because i thought he had pretty hair.  i clearly had no knowledge or concept of the s-curl back then.

anyway, this song stands out to me today because it reminds me that there was a time when you couldn’t say the word ‘breast’ in a song on the radio.  oh yeah.  those days did exist.  tough to believe when you got shit talkin bout ‘she gon let me beat beat beat beat beat’ on the radio these days.  it’s true though.  listen for the censoring around the 2:31 minute mark.  in the middle of the rhymin, debra killings (who is supplying the vocals) randomly and arbitrarily sings ‘baaaay-bee!’ where the word ‘breast’ would/should have been.

i dont remember anything else these two did.  brownie points if anyone else does.  brownie points + my eternal gratitude if anybody else at least remembers THIS song.

anyone?  bueller?

11 responses to “black music nobody remembers but me: slow love

  1. You are not the only one! I too, would ask people about that song and no one new about it…

    They use to play it on the box (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jukebox_Network). I think I requested it a couple times and dedicated to my boo…Aww young love 🙂

    Memorable lines –
    “You bring the blanket, I’ll bring the booooom”

  2. I’m kinda convinced you got together with the Local MCs and just made this song up for this blog entry.

    Never heard this before in my life.

  3. i totally remember this song.
    i used to tape it off the radio.
    just in case you didn’t have the mp3:
    http://www.zshare.net/audio/551273687bf35cb2/

  4. I swear, if you didn’t have two witnesses in the comments section, I would think you hired folks off the street, filmed this in your basement, and stole the Keith Sweat, “How Deep Is Your Love” outtakes.

    or something like that

  5. Yes I know this song. I just wished you hadn’t showed me the video.

  6. i just heard this song last month on this old school hip hop station while in phoenix. the other girls in the car thought i was on crack for knowing it!

    i can’t believe NO ONE knows this song. they played the he** out of it in new orleans.

    “buss it” love it!!!

  7. For all of you non-believers I agree with the original writer this was and still is the S***. I found this page because I was searching for the artists name, I only knew the name of the song and that would not come up on lime wire.

  8. this was my joint back in the day. not only did i regularly check it on the video jukebox (thx, nikki!), but i also went out and bought the CD at the used record store! i’ma give this a spin as soon as i get home…

  9. a few things:

    1. i remember this song.
    b. i never saw the video
    3. i’m glad i never saw it. JESUS his big ass rabbit teeth 😦
    4. i miss when videos were like this. yes it’s dated, but i liked it. something an child could watch without getting in trouble. now? shiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit
    a. that’s all i think.

  10. I know the words still! LMAO

  11. well let me tell you guys something the guy with the rabbit teeth his name is roland an he is from here jacksonville fla back in the day he thought he was the shitz nitz but now he is a broke a** nugga an get no play but with those dirty a** chics in locajuana westside of jacksonvile lol what a joke i mean you get all that damn money a blow it on trashy chics with no class but other than that as a person he is okay he has been trying to get back on his feet for many years but he hooked up with this no good guy who is a crook..yeah nugga ya reading this imean you………..

Leave a Reply

